Music Memories

 

A good song is like a picture – it brings back vivid memories.  When you hear a certain tune you can remember exactly where you were, what you were doing, and how you felt.  Music has the ability to tap into your memory vault and bring back old feelings, both good and bad.

In an effort to update my I-Pod with both old and new tunes I flipped through my CDs I had a bit of nostalgia and started seeing myself at different points of my life listening to music that has brought out one emotion or another.

I think that everyone has a list of songs that will forever take them “back down memory lane.”  I’m a bit of an old, tortured, soul and can be eclectic in my taste in music.  This list of songs represents some moments in my life that will likely be with me even in my old age when dementia sets in.  Not all of them may be my favorites, but they all paint a picture.

  1. “Thinking About You “ – Frank Ocean
  2. “Someone Like You” – Adele
  3. “Song for You” – Donny Hathaway
  4. “All I Do Is Think of You” – Troop
  5. “Kissing You” – Keith Washington
  6. “I Care for You” – Aaliyah
  7. “Congratulations” – Vesta
  8. “Superstar/Until You Come Back to Me” – Luther Vandross
  9. “Amazing” – Luther Vandross
  10. “Weak” – SWV
  11. “Cause I Love You” – Lenny Williams
  12.  “Before I Let You Go” – Blackstreet
  13. “Love” – Music
  14. “California Love” – 2Pac
  15. “Nobody Supposed to Be Here” – Deborah Cox
  16. “Cupid” – 112
  17. “Dreaming of You” – Selena
  18. “Giving Him Something He Can Feel” – En Vogue
  19. “They Don’t Know” – Jon B.
  20. “Be Without You” – Mary J. Blige
  21. “Best of Me” – Mya
  22. “Spice Up Your Life” – Spice Girls (Don’t judge…lol)
  23. “I’ll Make Love to You” – Boyz II Men
  24. “Meeting in My Bedroom” – SILK
  25. “He Can’t Love You” – Jagged Edge

I’m sure there are others, but that dementia may have begun to set in a little early.  My trip down memory lane ends here…but oh what a journey.  “Like” if this list has you fumbling for your I-POD or Pandora dial or reaching for your cell so that you can text, “I was just thinking about you” to a certain someone who may have given a special meaning to song that will always stroke your memory.

One comment

  1. Anonymous

    Oh my goodness. When you were at the Real “H” I never thought you guys did any work. Every time I called the Lenny Williams song was on and very loud my I add. LOL

Leave a Reply

