Why I Write: 09.28.03

September 28, 2011.  I’m not sure where I was or what I was wearing (the latter is far more important), but after a bit of research I would bet your last paycheck that I was likely in my apartment watching President Obama give the address to America’s schoolchildren.  Or maybe I was cooking a 5-course meal in red bottom stilettos for my hubby.  Nah.  I think I was definitely tuned into the national address.  Whatever it was I may have been doing or wearing on this day last year, I can say without a doubt that I wasn’t blogging.

The SITS Girls has again challenged me.  Only this time I’m unable to meet the challenge which requires that I publish a post that I wrote last year September 28th.  Be-Quoted was not yet launched in September of last year, and after canvassing 3 out of my 5 journals  it became apparent that I seemingly boycotted writing on September 28th for years.  Until…I came across my favorite leather bound journal where I had written “my thoughts” at 6:16 pm on September 28th, 2003.  Posting my thoughts, whatever they may have been at that time (because I’m not even sure), is me being courageous.  Here’s to writing.

6:16 pm

September 28, 2003

“There is…

Nothing profound in a web of deceit

Nothing real in a fairytale

Nothing meaningful in a life of fantasy

Nothing perfect in a world called “real”

Nothing ugly in a mind so beautiful

No one can see me if I never speak

No one listens when my mouth parts

No one means nothing & nothing could mean anything

This is why I write…

A blank page is the best listener…” – ASM

4 comments

  1. Dana Brown Ritter

    Happy that you’re blogging! I remember Obama’s back to school address, also the GOP debate this week last year, which I think had 7 candidates in it at that time! Time flies!
    SITS visit. 🙂

Leave a Reply

