Quote of the Week – “You’re the Type of Boy I’d Make a Sandwich For”

Quote courtesy of 9GAG – “The best pick up line”

The moment I read this quote it reminded me of a response I once gave someone who asked me how’d I know I wanted to marry my husband.  He questioned whether I married him because for the 2 grueling years I  was in graduate school he came to visit me every month by plane despite the distance between us; or was it the fact that he supported me during some of the worst times of my life; or, maybe it was because he had been consistent for the 5 years we’d known each other before we wed?

I confess, all of the aforementioned were befitting reasons to marry him, in addition to him being a beautiful man inside and out.  But I reconciled that I said “yes” (or some unintelligible babble that was equivalent to the word yes) to the proposal and 9 months later “I do,” because of all the things he makes me want to do for him.

Love and relationships are not only about how that person makes you feel and what he/she could do for you.  It’s about the actions conjured up by the shared love between the two of you.  Actions you’ve never cared to think to do before.  Believe it or not, we all love to give and with the right person there’s no need to question or second guess giving freely.  When it’s right there’s no need to solicit friends opinions, asking, “Do you think I should…?”  You do for the one you love because you feel there is no other viable choice.  It’s what makes you happy.  For this, you are grateful to “your love” for helping you tap into a benevolent love that in the end leaves you open for receiving the love that you’ve deserved all along.  I said “I do” because my husband was, and still is, the kind of man whom I want to make a sandwich, sweet tea, and a slice of Death by Chocolate cake for.  I’ll search near and far for a made-from-scratch recipe because his love puts me in a benevolent mood (usually…lol).  LoVe…

One comment

Leave a Reply

