“Do one thing every day that scares you.” ― Eleanor Roosevelt

The moment I grew in strength was the day I admitted to someone other than myself that I was insecure and weak.  Then, and now, the word “weak” makes me cringe.  I don’t care to think of myself as weak or insecure.  Weakness and insecurity never go well with my outfit – not any of them – yet those words clung to me like they were tailor-made.  Depression soon became the accessory that I couldn’t live without; couldn’t live with it either…

Now, here I am admitting yet another embarrassing truth:  I sold myself short.  I settled.  After years of failed effort and much courage I revealed my secrets and immediately felt I could never do it again. I could be considered a “one-hitter-quitter.”  I laid out my dirty laundry, uncharacteristically allowed myself to be vulnerable, and while I didn’t get the reaction (me left in a cloud of dust while vaguely recognizing the car break lights in the distance) I was expecting from the person on the receiving end of my Big Reveal, I knew that I was never likely to allow myself to be so open again for fear of being judged, and ultimately, rejected.  Although I had overcome, or to be more precise, was making great strides in overcoming the depression, insecurity, and weakness, I didn’t think I would be strong enough to stand unpolished and emotionally naked in front of another.  So I settled.  That is where the buck stopped for me.   Dreams deferred.  Growth stifled.

I didn’t want to admit that I settled.  “Settled” is not a very sexy word.  Not all that desirable of an action either.  But, I admit, I settled.

Today, I am choosing to do something that scares me.  Assessing the poor and impulsive decisions I have made in my life and taking complete ownership of how I reached this point in my life is scary, but not as scary as choosing to accept that I can never turn back the hands of time and correct the many, many mistakes that I have made, but instead must move forward to happiness in the aftermath of all that has led me to this moment.  There is no room for regrets.  We all know that regret is only a short fall from the corner of Pissed Off and Bitter.  That block doesn’t really work for my outfits either.

Being an adult is hard work.  It looked so deceitfully glamorous as a child.  But of course that’s because children are far less scared than adults.  I’m not afraid of the dark, or the monster in the closet, but I am certainly afraid to reconcile the past with the present and cannot bear to fathom an uncertain future.  Today, I am deciding to forgive myself for past mistakes and grant myself permission to sometimes be vulnerable without fear or regard of judgment.

Join me in confronting the fear that might be holding you back.  Be encouraged.

7 comments

  1. uniikleemeeh

    I enjoyed reading this post and I liked how you made mention of certain things not complimenting your outfit. 1st step is taking ownership and owning what most people tend to run from– truth. Once you accept and acknowledge than you overcome! GREAT post

    Uniikleemeeh
    Nika Marie

Leave a Reply

