March This Way

In a previous post I shared a list of new and old holiday traditions from my childhood that I planned to experience with my daughter.  The day before Thanksgiving marked the commencement of our holiday tradition bonanza.  Today we continued creating memories and making traditions.  For the first time ever my daughter and I stood on the side-walk – one of us with a grueling backache in the aftermath of holding a 30-pound toddler – to partake in the local annual Christmas parade.

It was easy to tell that some bystanders have long included the annual Christmas parade as a family tradition.  The veteran onlookers were decked with lawn chairs, mugs of some variety of hot cocoa, tea, or coffee, and blankets.  Yours truly had the daily essentials:  lip balm and gloss, peppermints, phone, camera (with a dead battery), and sunglasses.  Little One had her mittens and fruit snack.  She declined the offer to be pushed around in her stroller.  It was a nice day for walking, so hey, what did I care that she wanted to be healthy and get her blood pumping with a few thousand blocks of walking?  Good girl I thought.

Two hours, no stroller, no Daddy, no camera battery, and no back support.  Did I mention my lingering backache?

Those two hours were filled with watching the Marching Force from my alma mater, Hampton University, march proudly down the street playing classic Christmas tunes that most, if not all, of us are familiar with.  We saw a number of inflatable character floats one after the other, the Harlem Globetrotters, and even a troop of tiny cheerleaders, oddly not cheering, smiling, waving, or yelling, “happy holidays” to the crowd.

Then…

Came the float carrying 8 men dressed in uniform.  I’m not referring to the big man in the red and white  suit (what is that, velvet?) and his elves I’m talking about 8 men decked in freshly pressed military regalia.  Blame it on the dull pain in my lower back, or the absence of my lovely husband who could have prevented the pain in my back, but I uncharacteristically was pretty excited to see the men in uniform, standing tall, dignified, and demanding respect.   Exciting indeed.  I smiled and waved, yelled, “Happy Holidays” and “Merry Christmas.”  I even saluted one very handsome officer!  My, oh my.  Don’t ask me why I did it.

My daughter enjoyed the parade.  More than the parade she enjoyed being amongst the hundreds of onlookers who also included this year’s parade on their tradition to-do list.  Mommy enjoyed the parade too.  Especially…well, I won’t hurt hubby’s feelings, but you all know what my favorite part was, next to seeing the joy on my baby’s face of course.

Moving forward our holiday traditions list will include annual Christmas parade with fine men in uniform on float.  No exceptions!

“This post is powered by #BLMGirls. You can also check out other posts from our #BLMBlogHop by visiting this link http://curlsandmo.com/ and learn more about #BLMGirls here: http://www.facebook.com/groups/BloggersLikeMe/

16 comments

  1. Anonymous

    You’re awesome. I need to get into the spirit of making a holiday tradition for the White’s! Love y’all lots!

  2. Purrfectly Me

    I’m glad you both enjoyed the parade! We didn’t make it to ours this year. No bueno to that backache though! ONE day…we are going to make it to the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade!

  3. uniikleemeeh

    Sounds like sooo much fun! Glad you enjoyed yourself with the family, despite the backache. Im certain your hubbs took care of you when you arrived hime 🙂 #BLMGirls #BLMBlogHop

  4. Mylah Sai

    I’m loving this post. Your writing “voice” is very clear and I feel like I’ve known you for years. I had a girlfriend (she passed away this year) whose alma mater was Hampton University. This post made me think of all the good things she used to say about her school. Also, I can relate to carrying a 30 lb toddler…what were you thinking with no stroller??? LOL! Anywho, I thoroughly enjoyed your post!

  5. Eva

    Man, I carried my first kid around so much that my arm started to go numb, and the doctor wanted to have me tested for lupus…. she probably should have asked more questions. I know the pain it brings! We don’t have a parade that we attend every year for the holidays, but I salute YOU for going it alone with no stroller… 🙂 #blmbloghop

    • bequoted

      Lugging children around is a good way to get tennis elbow. I won’t hit the parade again without a fold out chair & a strapping young man. Thx for stopping by!

  6. Allean

    Your telling of the experience is delightful. Your thoughtfulness in deciding to do these things goes a very long way. Children remember experiences for a lifetime. Things are soon forgotten. One suggestion: make it a family affair, daddies are essential for relieving tired arms at these events.

  7. phenomenalmama

    The things we do for the kids! LOL! You’re making some pretty awesome memories that will always be cherished and your daughter will hopefully continue the tradition with her kids some day.

  8. uniquelybrandid

    Traditions are a great way to bond with your baby, but the back pain has got to go! Although it sounds like you were rewarded for your perseverance with the sighting of those handsome soldiers 🙂 BLM Hopping

  9. Anonymous

    I love doing holiday traditions from my childhood it brings back so many amazing memories. Great post. #blmbloghop #blmgirls

Leave a comment